Lumie Vitamin L
by Lumie
Compact LED lamp rated 10,000 lux at 20 cm, with Lumie's own figures showing 2,500 lux at 50 cm. Honest specs, but you have to sit close.
Specs
| Rated output | 10,000 lux at 20 cm (7.9 in) |
|---|---|
| Lab check | None found |
| Light area | Not stated (lamp is 11 x 7.9 in) |
| Color temp | 4,000K |
| UV | UV-free (brand) |
| Flicker | Not stated |
| DistanceTable | 5,000 lux at 30 cm; 2,500 lux at 50 cm |
| LightSource | Cool white LEDs, rippled diffuser |
| Settings | Fixed brightness |
| Size | 11 x 7.9 x 3.1 in |
| Weight | 1.83 lb |
| Warranty | 3 years |
| Returns | 45-day trial, delivery not refunded |
Specs from the manufacturer and the sources listed below. Last verified Oct 20, 2026.
Good
- Publishes output at three distances, not just the flattering one
- 45-day trial
- 4,000K white light, inside CET's recommended range
- Light at 1.83 lb and works upright or sideways
Not so good
- Reaches 10,000 lux only at about 8 in
- Lumie suggests starting at arm's length, where its own figure is 2,500 lux
- No brightness control
- Small panel, so head position matters
Lumie does something most small-lamp brands skip: it tells you how fast the light falls away. The Vitamin L gives 10,000 lux at 20 cm (7.9 inches), 5,000 lux at 30 cm and 2,500 lux at 50 cm. That table alone makes it more useful than a lamp that just says “10,000 lux.”
Read the table against the research dose. Yale’s light therapy group treats 30 minutes at 10,000 lux as roughly equal to 60 minutes at 5,000 or 120 minutes at 2,500. Lumie’s own advice is to start with 30 minutes at arm’s length, about 50 cm, where its figure is 2,500 lux. To match the trial dose in 30 minutes you need to sit about 8 inches away, which is close for a session of reading or breakfast.
The rest is simple. Cool white LEDs at 4,000K sit behind a rippled diffuser, there is one button and no dimmer, and a detachable stand lets it run upright or sideways. Lumie says the light is UV-free. It weighs 1.83 pounds, so it moves easily between a desk and a kitchen counter.
The 45-day trial is better than the new-condition-only returns at Carex and Verilux, and the warranty is three years.
The Vitamin L makes sense if you have very little space and will sit close. If you can fit a bigger lamp, the Carex Day-Light Sky costs $31 more and reaches 10,000 lux at 12 inches or more, with an independent measurement behind it.
Sources
Alternatives
- Best overallCarex Day-Light Classic Plus$170
- Best for sitting farther backAlaska Northern Lights NorthStar 10,000$354
- Northern Light Technologies BOXelite OS$255
- Best for small desksCarex Day-Light Sky$140